Grainless Plantain Brownies

I’ve been counting down to when my plantains would finally become ripe enough to make something sweet with them.  There are so many great plantain recipes out there – they are so versatile, cheap, and delicious! I found a recipe for plantain grainless brownies from So Let’s Hang Out that I could modify to be mostly Whole30 (minus the honey drizzle).  My version is super delicious – moist, chocolatey and good as a dessert brownie or as a breakfast pastry. I didn’t miss the chocolate at all! Her version I’m sure is also delicious, so check it out if you want something a bit more decadent and if you can have dairy.

What you need:

  • 2 ripe plantains – must be brown/black – peeled and quartered
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • few drizzles of honey
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

Instructions: 

  • Preheat oven to 350F
  • Grease a brownie or banana bread type tin with some coconut oil and set aside
  • Combine all of the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.
  • Pour batter into tin and bake for 30 minutes.
  • Let cool and enjoy!

I made this more as a chocolate banana bread type so I cut off slices when I wanted to some. I think it would’ve stayed fresh and moist either way, but slicing as you eat extends the freshness.

For another great plantain recipe – check these bread bites out.

 

Leave a comment