Plantain Grainless Bread Bites

Generally speaking, I’ve been enjoying my grain-free lifestyle and don’t miss it too much.  But this week I was really craving bread products.  My plantains were finally an acceptable black (it’s kind of scary eating them when they looks so nasty on the outside), and I found a great recipe from PaleOMG for plantain biscuits.  These were more like banana bread than a buttermilk biscuit but they were damn good.  Wow, I loved them.  James and I affectionately called them poops, for the way they look like bit dollops.  Appetizing, I know.  You should make these for sure.

What you’ll need:

  • 3 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 ripe plantains – like black, not yellow/green
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup (this makes it non-Whole30 – these were sweet enough I bet you could try it without this and still get something delicious)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tbsp coconut milk (canned, full fat)
  • 3 tbsp coconut flour (I didn’t have this, so I used almond meal)
  • 1-2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  • Cut off the ends of your plantains and then lightly score them so you can peel them.  Cut them in half length wise (I had to cut in half width-wise too to fit in my pan).
  • Over medium heat, brown the plantains on each side in 3 tbsp of coconut oil – each side needs about 3-4 minutes.  They should be golden/brown, but don’t burn.  If some pieces cook faster than others, just remove from pan and place into blender.
  • Once all are cooked, blend in a food processor so they become smoother/clump together.
  • Add in syrup, coconut oil, eggs, and coconut milk – then blend again until smooth.
  • Now add in coconut flour (or almond meal), cinnamon, baking powder and salt and blend again, until smooth and well-mixed.
  • Using a spoon or ice cream scooper, scoop out batter into biscuits, about 1 inch away from each other. Try to give them some heigh if you can (mine were more flat, but still tasted great). I got 8 biscuits from this mix.
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes until slightly brown and cooked through.

Let cool a bit and then try to resist eating them all in one sitting.

I found that the next few days, they still were extremely moist and held up well, but became a bit greasy.  I recommend toasting them a bit if you’re not eating them day 1. I will definitely make these again!

Leave a Reply

