Buffalo Whole30 Chili

When Instacart delivered me ground buffalo instead of ground beef, I was a bit nervous.  I’ve eaten bison before, but for whatever reason (maybe all the amazing bison in Yellowstone?), I was not feeling it.  I thought a chili would be a perfect way for me to eat it without thinking too much about it.  This crockpot chili came out delicious – nothing weird about it – and was a great way to use up vegetables that I was nervous could go bad in a few days.  Since I’m still eating mostly Whole30, there are no beans, but this is a recipe that you can adjust based on what is in your fridge.

What you need:

  • 1 lb ground buffalo
  • 1 zucchini, chopped
  • 1 yellow peppers, chopped
  • 1 small red onion, chopped
  • 2 handfuls of baby carrots, chopped
  • 3 handfuls of white sliced mushrooms, chopped
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 small can of tomato paste
  • Your favorite chili seasonings: chili powder, cayenne, paprika, salt, onion powder, garlic powder, cumin

Instructions:

  • Chop your veggies and put into crockpot.
  • Add seasonings, diced tomatoes and tomato paste.
  • Add buffalo.
  • Mix and add some water, depending on how thick or soup-like you like your chili.  I added 1 cup of water, which felt pretty good, I’d do 3/4 cup to 1 cup, personally.
  • I cooked for 6 hours in our crockpot and it was ready to go.
  • When I served it, I topped with some avocado and yuca chips for salt/crunch.

Do you use buffalo in place of beef for any recipes?

Leave a Reply

