Meatlovers Lasagna: Dairy & Gluten-Free

This has become one of my favorite Sunday meal prep meals because it works so well as lunch leftovers or a hearty dinner. It’s basically the same approach as my other zucchini lasagna, but I’ve made some adjustments to my meat mix and removed the dairy, making it Whole30-friendly.  I’m actually eating it as we speak and it’s so good!

What you’ll need:

  • “Noodles” are mandolined zucchini, sometimes I do them long-ways, this most recent time I did it cross-sectioned
  • The “Cheese” is a nut ricotta, made with macadamia nuts
    • 4 cups macadamia nuts
    • 2 tbsp lemon juice
    • 1 cup water
    • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • Fresh or dried parsley – your preference, I put a few teaspoons of dried.
  • The Meat is a 1.5 to 2 lbs. I tend to get about .6 lbs of beef, and then the rest as a beef, veal, pork mix that my local grocer has.
  • 1 jar tomato sauce – either a tomato basil or arrabbiata
  • Frozen spinach, thawed and drained – I used a whole bag so it created a full layer of lasagna

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 325F and line a lasagna dish with tin foil
  • In a large pan, brown the meat (I poured out a little fat run-off), then add tomato sauce, and let simmer so the sauce thickens.  I actually did that a day or two in advance, but you can also do this day-of.
  • Mandolin your zucchini noodles
  • Make your nut cheese in a blender (combine and blend until smooth)
  • Put half the meat mixture in the lasagna dish. Then a layer of zucchini noodles.
  • Combine nut cheese with eggs and parsley and spread a layer over the noodles.  Should be less than half of the mixture.
  • Spread the thawed spinach around as the next layer.  Then repeat with beef, zucchini and nut cheese.  Don’t feel that you need to use all the cheese, but use enough that it makes an even layer over everything.
  • Cover with tinfoil and bake for 45 minutes. Increase temperature to 350F and bake for another 15-20 minutes, uncovered, so the nut cheese starts to brown.
  • Let sit a bit, and then serve!

Here’s another shot from above.

IMG_2635

Leave a Reply

