Whole30 Avgolemono Soup

This is one of my most-liked posts on Instagram, but I don’t think the photo does it justice.  After a fun double date at a Greek restaurant, I really wanted to try my hand at making this soup.  It was really tasty, but would definitely be heartier with rice in it. Since I’m grainless right now, if I were to do it again, I would increase the veggies and chicken and maybe even experiment with adding some cauliflower rice.  Any other suggestions?

I modified my recipe from this post by Mediterranean Dish.

What you’ll need:

  • Olive oil
  • 1 cup carrots, chopped
  • 1 cup celery, chopped
  • 1 cup green onions, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, pressed or minced
  • 4-6 cups low sodium chicken broth
  • 2 bay leaves
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 pre-cooked chicken breasts (I think I did about a pound), shredded
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1 large egg

Instructions:

  • In a large pot, sautee carrots, celery, and green onions in some olive oil.  Then add garlic and sautee another minute.
  • Add chicken broth and bay leaves and some salt and pepper to your liking. Cover and bring to a boil over high heat.
  • Once it’s hit a rolling boil, lower heat to medium-low and add in cooked, shredded chicken.  Let it simmer for 5-10 minutes.
  • In a bowl, whisk lemon juice and eggs together.  While whisking, add 2 ladles of broth into the mixture (helps temper the eggs).  Once combined, add that mixture to the soup, stir, and remove from heat immediately.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

