Slow Cooker Pork Al Pastor

Every year around New Years, a group of friends does a rental house upstate. Amanda is our Chief Food Officer, in charge of grocery lists and delicious meals.  This year she did a delicious pineapple pork, which I’ve since learned is called pork al pastor.  Using her inspiration and a guideline from PaleOMG, I crafted a recipe that fit with what I had in my house and what I wanted in my Whole30-ish belly.  I served it with a pineapple guacamole and zucchini noodles mixed with salsa.  I used the sauce the next morning to cook my eggs in, like a makeshift shakshuka.

What you’ll need:

  • 2 cups pineapple, diced (I used canned crushed pineapple, but fresh works too)
  • 1/2 white onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1/2 cup orange juice (no sugar added)
  • 1-2 jalapeños, stems removed and de-seeded
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp lime juice
  • 2 lb pork tenderloin, cubed (meat scissors worked great for this!)

Instructions: 

  • Put all ingredients except pork into a blender and blend until smooth
  • Put cubed pork into the slow cooker
  • Pour blended sauce all over the pork
  • I cooked for 4 hours, but if I had more time I would’ve done 8 hours
  • When it’s ready, shred with two forks or serve in cubes – get plenty of sauce on your pork and save the extra for topping other foods (a la eggs)
One thought on “Slow Cooker Pork Al Pastor

Leave a Reply

