Bone Broth Egg Drop Soup

This soup was an inspiration from an Instagram account I recently started following (@silver_scales) when I realized I had some leftover chicken bone broth.  This is a dish I’d normally never attempt, but it had Whole30 experiment written all over it.

What you’ll need:

  • Chicken bone broth
  • Tiny, tiny splash of Red Boat Fish Sauce (or another brand, but this is Whole 30 compliant)
  • 1/4-1/2 cup coconut aminos (I started with 1/4 cup and continued to add as I went – you may not need a full 1/2 cup, but I was trying to dilute the fish sauce taste)
  • Lots of salt
  • Onion powder
  • Garlic powder
  • Garlic chili paste (I did ~3/4 tsp but do a little at a time and taste for spiciness)
  • 2 eggs, well whisked
  • For garnish: some raw cucumber swirls and green scallions
    • I added bok choy because I was making it anyway, that was a nice add

Instructions: 

  • Pour bone broth into a pot and get it hawt
  • Add a tiny (this stuff is strong!) splash of fish sauce
  • Continue to add salt, onion powder, garlic powder, and chili paste in proportions that feel right to you, tasting as you go
  • Whisk 2 eggs with a splash of coconut aminos and pinch of salt
  • When it’s good and hot and has the flavor you want, cut the heat.  Give it a minute to cool slightly, then, while stirring, slowly pour in the egg.  It should cook in wispy, whimsical little egg drops.
  • Taste, adjust any seasoning, and top with some green scallions, raw cucumber swirls, and anything else you think may be good (I used some cooked bok choy).

This is a salty, slurpy soup that makes you feel fancy (and thirsty).  Good luck!

2 thoughts on “Bone Broth Egg Drop Soup

  1. Sounds relish! Did you make your chicken bone broth or purchase a Whole 30 compliant broth? If purchased, what brand?
    Thanks for your inspiration and recipes.
    #whole 30
    Day 33 – yay me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

