Zucchini & Potato Fritters: Whole 30 Day 30

Today I wanted to eat all my feelings.  If I wasn’t on the Whole 30 I would’ve eaten a fully loaded Chipotle rice bowl. That was my first choice. But as I walked down Bleecker, pizza, falafel, brownies, etc. would’ve all done the trick.  Good thing I had this recipe in mind for tonight, which also felt comforting in its own way.

While I’m going to call them fritters, these reminded me of my favorite one-a-year treat, latkes! Mom would be proud (right mom?).

What you’ll need:

  • 1 large zucchini, julienned
  • 2 medium new potatoes (just learned that was the name of this kind – they’re “waxy” potatoes), julienned
  • 3/4 medium yellow onion, julienned
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup almond meal
  • Coconut oil (fair amount, to fill the pan and coat the bottom of the fritter)
  • Salt to taste (add some to the mixture, and add additional as needed when they’re done)

Instructions: 

  • Using a kitchen tool (I used my mandolin on a julienne setting, but would also work with a grater), julienne your zucchini, potato and onion.  I chopped up a bit after the julienning so they were smaller shreds.
  • Using a cheese cloth, drain out as much moisture as you can.
  • Add garlic powder, almond meal, eggs (mix once in a bowl) and some salt.
  • Heat coconut oil – once the pan is hot, add small meatball sized balls of mixture and flatten out with the back of your spoon.
  • Since we’re not deep frying, these do take a little time to crisp up.  You’ll want to wait until the brown crisping creeps up towards the middle of the fritter, then flip, and wait for the other side to crisp up.
  • Once done, place onto a plate covered in paper towels to absorb excess oil.
  • Salt, as needed, and enjoy!

These are crispy on the outside, and soft on the inside, and super tasty! I had to stop myself from eating all of them on the spot.

Leave a Reply

