Tomatillo & Serrano Pepper Chicken: Whole 30 Day 28

I have several people around me who are much better and more natural cooks than me. My brother is consulted on the regular and my friend from college (go Duke!), Andrea.  This recipe comes from Andrea, easily recited off the top of her head  upon me asking “what can I do with chicken thighs?”  Please note: this is spicy, so not for the wee babes or faint of mouth.

What you’ll need:

  • Chicken thighs, de-boned and de-skinned
  • 4 tomatillos, “jackets” removed and tops/stems removed
  • 4-5 serrano peppers, stems/top removed
  • 2-4 cups of water (original recipe called for 4, but I want my sauce a bit more reduced, so would try 2 cups if I did this again)
  • 1/4 cup onion (I used white)
  • 1 garlic clove
  • Big handful of cilantro
  • Salt, to taste

Instructions: 

  • Preheat oven to 350 and line a casserole dish with tin foil and lightly grease with olive oil spray. Spread de-boned and de-skinned chicken in the dish.
  • Bring water to a boil.
  • Drop in tomatillos and peppers and boil for a few minutes, so they get soft.
  • Throw your whole bowl (water, peppers, tomatillos) into your blender, along with onion, garlic and cilantro. Blend.
  • Pour blended liquid over the chicken and place in the pre-heated oven.
  • Check after an hour.  I ended up doing an hour, ten.
  • Give the sauce a taste, add some shakes of salt as you see fit

I enjoyed this spicy dish along with tostones, which balanced the kick of the chicken nicely.

Leave a Reply

