Whole 30 Basic Mayo

I’m not a huge fan of mayo – it’s definitely not something I think about when doing the Whole 30, at least not in the way I dream about wine, bread, mac ‘n’ cheese, sushi, rice, sour cream, nachos, pasta, and, oof, you get the idea.

I’ve seen a lot of excitement around Whole 30 chicken salad, and as a soon-to-be Whole 30 2x alumni, I think learning how to make your own mayo is a pre-req to graduation.

So, the below outlines what I did, loosely following the guidance of Paleo Leap.  It came out well (I think? Not a mayo expert) but I’m convinced there are easier ways to tackle, so linking to a few other sites with quicker directions that I’d attempt next time. It was helpful for me to read a few recipes and techniques before I went for it.  Most noteworthy tips: room temperature ingredients, not EVOO (overpowering flavor), and pour oil slowly.

What you’ll need:

  • 2 room temperature egg yolks
  • 3 tsp room temperature lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup room temperature light tasting olive oil (not EVOO) and 1/2 cup liquid coconut oil (not necessary to combine, but I did for easy pouring)
  • salt to taste

Instructions: 

  • In a high-rimmed bowl (I used the vertical container that came with my immersion blender), blend egg yolks and 1 tsp of lemon juice (note: not all the lemon juice) with your immersion blender.
  • Keeping the immersion blender on low, very slowly drip the oil in. Like slower than you think feels right.  Slow like your hand starts cramping as you have to keep holding the blender button.
  • As the oil is added, the mixture should start looking mayo like as the emulsification starts happening (big words!).  Once it starts getting thicker you can add a little more oil at a time.
  • Keep the blender going the whole time, moving it up and down slowly to make sure the oil is incorporating and emulsifying.
  • When all the oil is in there, add the rest of the lemon juice and blend in.  Give it a taste and add some salt to taste, if you feel like it.

Do you have any of your own homemade mayo tricks?  Here are some sites that I thought were helpful with tips and recipes.

A lot of recipes use mustard or mustard powder. I hate mustard and therefore don’t keep it in the house, but that’s the only reason why I didn’t use it.

Leave a Reply

