Chicken Salad: Whole 30 Day 27

I’ve seen a lot of posts and instagrams about Whole 30 chicken salad. While it’s not something I normally eat or crave, I wanted to give it a go because 1. food boredom 2. wanted to overcome making homemade mayo and 3. it seemed somewhat similar to a tuna salad I love from my hometown (shout out to Armonk Country Kitchen!).

This could be fast and easy if you have the ingredients on hand, but personally took me a little longer since I had to make the mayo, roast the walnuts (I’m allergic to raw) and pull the chicken.  This would be great to make in bulk and eat for lunches (over arugula as a salad or in lettuce or endive boats).

There are a lot of similar recipes, but I based mine loosely on Slender Kitchen’s.

What you’ll need: 

  • 1 lb pulled chicken breast, cold (vs. fresh out of the crockpot)
  • 1 cup red, seedless grapes, quartered
  • 2-3 tbsp of homemade mayo (dial up and down as you like)
  • 2-3 handfuls of red onion, chopped (I like red onion, so start with less and add more as you see fit)
  • 1/4 cup walnuts, roasted and chopped (raw is fine too, but I have to roast due to allergies)
  • Half a green, granny smith apple, chopped
  • Salt to taste

Instructions: 

  • Make a little tray with tinfoil and lightly roast your walnuts in a toaster oven (they can burn easily, so go light)
  • While that’s going, quarter your grapes (serrated knife made this really easy) and do the rest of your ingredient chopping (I always keep chopped onions on hand – Sunday meal prep)
  • In a big enough bowl to hold everything, combine grapes, red onion, walnuts, apple and mayo.  Mayo should be evenly coating your ingredients.  Then add in pulled chicken.
  • Give it a taste, adjust proportions of each ingredient and add salt, as you like

The original recipe had avocado – if I had some on hand, I would’ve used some, but I’d worry that it wouldn’t keep as well since avocados brown so easily.

One thought on “Chicken Salad: Whole 30 Day 27

Leave a Reply

