Lemon Roasted Fingerling Potatoes: Whole 30 Day 25

I love potatoes. I wanted to create a greek-inspired meal, so to go with my tzatziki and chicken burgers, I went with lemony, tri-color fingerling potatoes.  I feel good when I eat purple potatoes.  This recipe was adapted from All Recipes.

What you’ll need:

  • 2 bags of tri-color fingerling potatoes so you’ll have leftovers (tri-color isn’t necessary, but it’s pretty!)
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • few cranks of sea salt to coat potatoes
  • light coating of dried oregano
  • 2 cups of chicken broth (ensure Whole 30 compliant)

Instructions: 

  • Preheat oven to 400F and tinfoil a casserole dish
  • Clean and slice potatoes long ways (not sure why, but seemed more greek based on recipes I saw to have longer wedges) and put into dish
  • Add olive oil and lemon juice and toss to coat
  • Season with salt and oregano, and toss to coat again
  • Spread out potatoes and pour 2 cups of chicken broth over them
  • Roast potatoes until tender, about an hour

As an experiment, after I cooked them, I took out some of the liquid and added potato starch to it, whisking quickly. I was trying to make more of a glaze.  While it tasted good and I liked the thickness of the sauce and used it, I haven’t quite mastered the starch add-in and avoiding clumps of gelatin-looking stuff from forming. For that reason, I didn’t add the sauce to the rest of the pan.  If anyone else has mastered this, give it a go!

If I were to do this again, I might try marinading the potatoes for an hour to really get them into some lemony flavor.

Another note – I read a lot about how sliced potatoes turn brown quickly and aren’t the best to prep in advance unless you’re using in <12 hours.  I prepped these on a Sunday and stored in cold water in the fridge for 3 days and didn’t see any browning.  Not sure if I got lucky or fingerlings are different, but another Sunday meal prep victory that really helped me on a weekday cook night.

One thought on “Lemon Roasted Fingerling Potatoes: Whole 30 Day 25

Leave a Reply

