Dairy-Free Tzatziki Sauce: Whole 30 Day 23

I love a good, refreshing tzataziki.  After being inspired on what dairy-centric foods could be made dairy-free, I wanted to give this a go to top my chicken spinach burgers – especially because they would not have feta in them to liven them up.  This was really easy to do, especially because I peeled and cut up my cucumber as a part of Sunday meal prep.  Thank you Sunday me!

What you’ll need:

  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup fresh dill (I was a bit generous in my measurement)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2/3 cup olive oil
  • 2 tbsp coconut milk (with some extra on hand)
  • 1 cup cucumber, peeled and chopped (with some extra on hand)

Instructions: 

  • Pulse minced garlic and lemon juice in your blender (I used my Blendtec Twister Jar)
  • Add dill and salt and pulse again
  • Put your blender on its lowest speed and drizzle in olive oil through top hole (I made a little mess during this part, so make sure you know how fast your lowest speed is!)
  • Once oil’s in, add coconut milk and pulse.
  • Then add cucumber and pulse to combine.

After all that, I found it to be a little salty and wanted to try to thicken it a bit, so I ended up adding additional coconut milk, a few small teaspoons at a time until it was a salty-level I liked.  I’ve reduced the amount of salt to compensate, so you may need to add salt – whatever tastes good to you!

This isn’t a thick, chunky tzatziki, but the flavor is great. To make it a little thicker, serve it with some fresh cucumber pieces and keep it very cold.  It would make a great salad dressing, dip for veggies, and sauce for your protein.

2 thoughts on “Dairy-Free Tzatziki Sauce: Whole 30 Day 23

Leave a Reply

