Prosciutto-Wrapped Cantaloupe: Whole 30 Day 22

One of my favorite memories with my dad was sitting with him on the couch while he ate a scooped out half-cantaloupe with some yogurt topped with wheatgerm.  He’d spoon me bites – I’m not sure he ever got his fair share.  Cantaloupe also reminds me of my dad’s parents and them trying to convince us to take some home from their home in Maryland because they were on sale! We resisted.

So this recipe took me about no time at all because I pre-cut melon pieces during a Sunday meal prep.  The fruit is keeping well and is still so refreshing.

What you’ll need:

  • As much cantaloupe as you want
  • As much prosciutto as you want

Instructions:

  • First off, make sure you’re picking a whole cantaloupe at the store.  I find pre-cut melon at the store is always underwhelming.  Pick a fragrant one that feels heavy for its size (juicy!).
  • Cut the cantaloupe in half (I tried to Google which direction but didn’t get a strong answer) and use a spoon to scoop out the seeds.
  • Using a sharp knife, continue to slice into wedges that are easy to maneuver.
  • James taught me a trick – to cut off the rind, start the knife where you want (avoid the green so your melon edge is close to the rind but juicy and orange) and as you slice through, rotate the melon so the knife is always horizontal/flat vs.maneuvering the knife in curves.
  • Once your melon is de-rinded. Cut into healthy-sized chunks and wrap a piece of prosciutto around it.

This can be done in advance or one at a time. It’s a great snack that feels fancy and sophisticated and like a real treat, but actually is really easy.  The salty and sweet combo that we all love!

Leave a Reply

