Broccoli Tots: Whole 30 Day 20

I’ve been seeing a bunch of broccoli tot recipes online, and since I like my foods in mushed up, ball form, I had to try it.  I found a recipe that looked solid from Gimme Delicious and modified it to be dairy and gluten free.  Give it a go!  They were very tasty and overall pretty easy to do – the part that took the longest was the fine chopping of broccoli (maybe next time I’d do a few pulses in the blender, but you don’t want it to become a puree). And then shaping the little tots takes a little time, but all in all, pretty easy. If I were to try it again, I’d experiment with the amount of nutritional yeast and the amount/color of onion.

What you’ll need:

  • Broccoli crowns, blanched, 4 cups after fine chopping
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 2 tsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp garlic powder

Instructions: 

  • Preheat oven to 400F
  • Line two baking sheets with parchment paper
  • Bring water to a boil in a pot big enough to fit all your broccoli, add salt to help get the boil going faster. Prepare a bowl of ice water. Once boiling, drop in broccoli for 1 1/2-2 minutes, covered, then quickly transfer into ice water.  Once cooled, drain water and use that bowl for your broccoli mush.
  • Finely chop your broccoli – it should be small enough that it can bind together into a little tot.  As you go, put broccoli in the bowl, along with the rest of your ingredients.
  • Combine well, then get your hands dirty and get in there! Make little tot sized shapes by taking some in your hand, squeezing firmly into a dense blob, and then shaping.  Place on baking sheets as you go.
  • The original directions said to bake 18-24 minutes, flipping them halfway.  I found that my tots needed a little more time before I felt comfortable flipping them, so play it by ear, I think I flipped after 17 minutes, and did more like 30 minutes in total.

I served these little guys along side my favorite chicken meatballs with mango, jalapeno, and cilantro.  They complemented each other well.

 

Leave a Reply

