Almond Brussels Sprouts with Balsamic Chicken: Whole 30 Day 17

We grew up watching shows being told brussels sprouts were disgusting.  Low and behold, they’re delicious.  My local supermarket has containers of pre-shredded brussels sprouts and we make it as our side dish all the time.

What you’ll need:

  • Slivered or sliced almonds (I prefer sliced, white, blanched)
  • Brussels sprouts, pre-shredded
  • Olive oil

Instructions:

  • I like toasting my almonds – I’m slightly allergic to raw nuts and they get a deeper taste – so I did so in the pan with a little olive oil over medium heat until they started to brown
  • Then I added a little more oil and the brussels sprouts, using a spatula to keep them moving around in the pan.  I usually cover it for a little bit and then uncover when they reach a brighter green
  • Once they’re a bright green, give them a taste, and do so periodically until they seem cooked to your liking

I don’t even season these, but if I were to, it would just be a little salt.

I served these with a balsamic chicken, courtesy of Nom Nom Paleo. I used skin-on chicken thighs, de-boning them with our new kitchen shears, and banging them thin with a meat pounder (technical term?).  I used balsamic vinegar (vs. sherry vinegar), shallots/scallions, and didn’t use fish sauce.  I’m still trying to figure out a way to crisp up the skin considering I don’t have a broiler in my oven.

 

Leave a Reply

