Almond Sesame Zucchini Noodles with Pulled Chicken: Whole 30 Day 4

I bookmarked this recipe from The Wonky Spatula when exploring Whole 30 recipes. I was down for the Asian flair since I cook pretty “American” style when I’m Whole 30-ing.  We always have almond butter on standby and I wanted to put my new Hanukkah present to use; James got me a Mandolin with a bunch of different settings.  Coconut aminos and sesame oil aren’t things I normally have in my cabinet, but I ordered them in advance of doing the Whole 30 since since they add a new flavor profile to the repertoire.

I only adjusted the recipe slightly, based on what I had in my spice rack and proportions, with the biggest change being adding pulled chicken to my bowl.  Of course, this makes it non-vegan and vegetarian, but for Whole 30, we’re all about that protein. This makes 2-3 servings, depending on how large of an eater you are or how much chicken you add.

What you’ll need for the Zoodles:

  • 3/8 cup of almond butter (ensure Whole 30 compliant)
  • 3 tbsp coconut aminos
  • 4 1/2 tbsp sesame oil
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp ground ginger powder
  • 2 cloves of garlic (3 if small), pressed or minced as small as possible
  • 4 zucchinis (average in size), ends cut and julienned into “noodles”
  • coconut oil
  • sesame seeds
  • Few green onions, chopped small

Zoodle Instructions:

  • Combine and stir the almond butter, coconut aminos, sesame oil, cinnamon, ginger and garlic until evenly mixed. Set aside.
  • Heat up some coconut oil in a large pan and throw the julienned noodles in.
  • Cook about 3-4 minutes, until they seem soft, and then throw the sauce mixture on.
  • The sauce will lighten and become creamy.  Once you feel like the noodles are soft and the sauce is evenly mixed around, use tongs to scoop your portions.  I let some of the excess sauce drip off (it’s very flavorful, you don’t need a ton) and threw it in a bowl.
  • Make it pretty with some sesame seeds and small slices of green onions and you are ready to impress your friends on Instagram

After I took my pics, I added in some pulled chicken I made in the crockpot earlier that day.  It balanced the flavor nicely and it made this a more substantial entree. I also kept the excess almond butter sauce – tasty for leftover pulled chicken another day!

What you’ll need for Pulled Chicken:

  • As many chicken breasts as you’d like
  • Enough chicken broth so they are submerged just barely (ensure Whole 30 compliant)
  • Some spices, if you’d like – I used garlic powder and onion powder and some crushed red pepper

Instructions for Pulled Chicken

  • Throw chicken in the crockpot and cover with just enough broth to submerge them.
  • Add in spices.
  • Set to your desired time, I usually do 8 hours overnight or in the morning.
  • When done, use a fork to take out breasts and place on plate.  Use two forks to pull the chicken apart – it should be extremely easy to do so.

Pulled chicken is so easy and useful – planning to throw it on a chopped salad for lunch.

3 thoughts on “Almond Sesame Zucchini Noodles with Pulled Chicken: Whole 30 Day 4

Leave a Reply

