My Favorite Chopped Salad

I’m known for chopping things very small. What a weird thing to be known for.

I pretty much only eat salads if they’re chopped, so this is my go-to when making my own at home.  A staple during Thanksgiving, for get togethers and for my lunches. Having a good sharp knife really makes a big difference.

What you’ll need:

  • Lettuce (I like arugula, mesclun, or a mix of both)
  • Pre-made coleslaw mix (red/green cabbage and carrots) – gives it a crunch!
  • A crunchy thing or two – usually roasted, unsalted almonds, but I’ve done others like walnuts, pumpkin seeds or soy nuts
  • A sweet thing – usually dried currants, but I’ve done dried cranberries or fresh diced apples
  • Avocado
  • Orange or yellow pepper
  • Sun Gold tomatoes (my mom grows them, but basically small yellow tomatoes)

Instructions:

  • Chop everything small, mix up, eat.

Check your fridge or pantry for extra additions that could be good, e.g. a protein, red onion, sweet potato, etc. Sometimes I sprinkle chia or flax on top.

I make a makeshift dressing involving a mixture of olive oil, lemon juice, apple cider vinegar and some spices (minced onion, salt, Italian spices).

Pictured here (before I mixed it all up): arugula, coleslaw mix, pulled chicken, almonds, cashews, scallions, orange pepper, yellow tomato, avocado, and the above dressing.

Leave a Reply

