Beet, Black Bean, Quinoa Burgers

I saw some julienned beets at whole foods and had a vision for veggie burgers.  I took to the Google and found this delicious recipe from Minimalist Baker for Quinoa Beet Veggie Burgers. Normally I try to simplify, but I just went for it, with a few shortcuts where I could. It’s messy and takes a bit, but purple hands and a hearty, new dish was worth it.  Great for a Sunday cook into Monday lunch leftovers.  Pictured here before they went in the oven.

I learned two important lessons from this recipe:

  1. I like cumin.  Who knew? It gives a delish smoky flavor and makes you feel like a professional.
  2. Another use for mason jars. Keep reading.

What you’ll need:

  • Cooked quinoa, feel out proportions, but 3/4 cup should do
  • Red onion, finely diced, 3/4 cup
  • Mushrooms (I get white, pre-sliced), finely chopped, 1 cup
  • Black beans (15 oz can)
  • Raw beets, grated or julienned or basically destroyed enough to be mushed into a burger. Recipe called for a cup, I ended up adding more to even out proportion, I wanted more purple!
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • salt to taste
  • Walnuts, 1/2 cup once ground in blender into a loose meal (could probably also use a gluten free flour but might lose a touch of flavor)

Instructions: 

  • Ask your helpful significant other to make the quinoa before you come home – it saves a step!
  • Pre-heat oven to 375F
  • Throw black beans into a mixing bowl and mash up with a fork into a rough mash.
  • Sauté onions until their soft (3-5 minutes), then add mushrooms and a little salt to flavor until mushrooms start getting cooked (3 minutes).
  • Mix together with beans, then add quinoa, beets, spices and mix up. Play with proportions if you feel you need more of anything.
  • The mush was pretty wet, so that’s where the walnut meal comes in. They help give it some structure to make into patties, so add as you see fit.
  • Line a baking sheet with tin foil and spray with nonstick spray. Using a mason jar lid, I was able to make consistently shaped/sized patties right on the baking sheet, but now that I’m Googling “Shape burger patties with peanut better jar lid” I’m seeing a technique that makes more sense – take to the Google, friends! I didn’t make them too thick, as I enjoy a crispier veggie burger.
  • Spray the burgers lightly with your non-stick spray and put in the oven for 40-50 minutes (I did 50, because crispy).  Halfway through, gently flip with a spatula. They’re a bit fragile, so handle with care!
  • Cook longer if you want crispier/drier.

They weren’t as beautiful and instagrammable as I was hoping they’d be, but they were really delicious.  I ate without any buns, just plain with some asparagus.  They’re light, so help yourself to a few for an entree.

Leave a Reply

